competition preparation · friendly competition · kettlebell nostalgia · life

the perfect set with intention.

Saturday, November 1st after the competition was over and we could enjoy eating normal food, and not worrying about calories or alcohol I actually got to meet- not just see John Wild Buckley. Yes that is his real name, and yes, his mom gave it to him as an infant- because it was her family name, and yes, it was the first thing I asked. Lynn and I were having a few drinks at the bar of the hotel, it was supposed to be where the “competition after party” was to take place. And yes, after only having one glass of wine in between the last day of August and the first day of  November I was feeling prrr-eeeetttttyyyy good. Let me start by describing John to you. John is not a small man. I have no idea of the digits, but closer to 7 feet tall than 6, I would say, and I am not sure how much he weight in at, but he is a force, Paul Bunyan style. A force that you would not expect. John, to me, is like the nicest, coolest, give-you-the-shirt-off-his-back guy, down to earth, strong, strong man, surfer dude. He grew up in upstate New York, about 5 hours from where we live. I really wanted to ask him the hows and whys he got to California, why he stated lifting, all the places he had been in the name of kettlebell sport..blah, blah, blah…maybe someday he will tell me all of that too! He is such a cool guy! And I am so honored to have met him.

He definitely put things in perspective for Lynn and I. I had walked away, and when I came back she was in tears. He went on to describe, that when you get on that lifting platform to perform your set- you need to make it the perfect set. To do that you make every rep perfect, without worrying about the number, the time, the judge, the spectators….. Kettlebell lifting is about the lifter. That is was his gym, the Orange Kettlebell Club in Costa Mesa, California promotes.  After a tough day on the platform it was exactly what I needed to hear. I can’t speak for Lynn, but I think he inspired her as well. Regardless of the weight you put up, how much you weigh, or how you look you need to make every rep perfect, make every rep count. I will be honest- sometimes this is hard, because I often equate a number to success. Time is not something that I can change, so I don’t worry about that too much. If you visit the OKC’s website you will find that John and his team promote successful lifting in very humble manner. No one is better, and everyone is constantly in a state of learning.

I found John’s theory goes hand in hand with some of the teachings in yoga. In yoga the instructor says to have intention. In that pose, in that moment, know what you are trying to do. You can not go back, you are only here now, so make it count! I do not try to get all yogi-spiritual-like because I do think it is kind of weird, but that teaching has so much value in many avenues of my life. Whether my family, my job, lifting, running, yoga, do things right, and worry about the now, because you can’t change the past, and the future should be only planned in pencil, with a BIG eraser.

In other news, I love snuggling with my newest niece and look forward to spoiling the crap outta her! I will be running a 10K on Turkey Day- I can only hope its not too cold! I am also going to do my best to get to Cali for the California Open that is put on by John and OKC.  It may take a lot of schedule fan-angling, sweet talking and plane tickets! My “plan” would be to start training very soon. I have a green bell to murder! Also, Lynn and Dana will be headed to Germany in a matter of days for the Kettlebell World Championships! Holla!!!

Want a piece of my own kettlebell nostalgia? Here I am in 2012 at my first IKFF event in Novi, Michigan. Wow, things have changed. (Grey pants, White tee, finger sneakers!)

Today, Veterans Day, make sure to thank a member of our Armed Services.

Happy Lifting, Running and Snuggles!

Cindy

11.11.14

2 thoughts on “the perfect set with intention.

    1. Lynn, thank you so much for your constant support! I love that I have a reader! I am so excited for you! You will kill it in Germany!

Leave a Reply

