friendly competition · kettlebell nostalgia · life

1HLC to benefit K4A

This coming Saturday, an international event will be taking place, no matter where in the world, no matter the time zone, we will all be lifting at the same time to raise awareness for autism. One of my friends, Christina, who is my friend because of kettlebell, runs the Kettlebells for Autism, and every year they hold this amazing event to raise awareness and hopefully a few dollars for autism research. I approached Coach Dom about letting the event take place at ROC Boxing and Fitness as a satellite location for the event, and of course he was down, but he also put me in charge. I will be honest, it has been a little stressful, mostly because I have no idea WHO is going to show. Lifters will be doing a full hour of long cycle jerk (without putting the bell on the floor) or a relay -broken into 5 person teams. I am worried that something isn’t going to work out, someone will be mad, we won’t start on time, blah, blah, blah….. I am hoping that my cousin will be able to help me with the electronic stuff, like photos, video, and social media. So that is what is up. And of course I will write a post after the event.

Also, I wanted to give a little shout-out to my coach, my mentor, a man who I look up to, Coach Dom. I would never have touched a kettlebell if it wasn’t for him. His drive and work ethic are no less than impressive, and his desire to grow the sport inspires me to want to do the same. My love for lifting these balls with handles stems from him, my drive for learning and growing started with him. He is the reason I am able to do what I do, and love it, the reason that Team ROC exists, the reason that Lynn and Dana are doing what they are doing and representing Rochester, NY in Germany. He challenges me, gives me ideas, pushes me and he creates an environment where others are able to do the same. Thank you Coach Dom from the bottom of my heart.

 

I realize I did not post a workout, or heavy lifting stuff- I will, but sometimes you just gotta write about what feels good!

 

Happy lifting and give back!

Cindy

10.12.14

Leave a Reply

