life · nutrition

High Protein, Good Fats, Low Sugar and Yummmm!

This is the recipe for  the smoothie I make and drink for breakfast at least 5 days a week. If I eat it on a morning after a lift, I make sure it is at least an hour after because the fat content is moderate, and right after a workout fat intake should be kept to a minimum and you should be most concerned about a fast-acting protein and a simple carbohydrate to replace glycogen. I do make alterations usually to satisfy my cravings for peanut or almond butter.

First, soak 1 Tablespoon of chia seeds in about 1/3 cup of water overnight. I usually do this before bed and pop it in the fridge. I learned that if you leave it out and a day (or two) later you haven’t used them you may have sprouted chia. I try to find organic chia seeds. I have a chia seed obsession. If you would like to learn more about them search the web or click here.

Other ingredients to have on hand: unsweetened almond milk, a juice if you feel like it (for example a 100% cherry, pomegranite or orange juice for additional sweetness (as well as micro-nutrients)), some type of frozen berries (I prefer berries to other fruit because of the lower glycemic index), protein powder(s) of your choice, and a leafy green, I prefer an organic baby kale or organic baby spinach.

In a blender (or Ninja as I use) I place 1 cup of my unsweetened almond milk, sometimes I add a 1/4 cup of juice (optional), and my soaked chia seeds. Blend until well blended :). Then I add my leafy greens (usually 1 1/2 to 2 cups) and blend those in. Lastly, I add my protein powders. I use 1 scoop of Gnarly Whey meal replacement protein in vanilla and 2 tablespoons of Nutiva Organic Hemp protein.

71-rciUI9DL._SL1500_ 51BPhEy1IeL

I started using hemp protein because I wanted to supplement with a protein that was not dairy based. It can be gritty. Whey is a derivative of cows milk, and unfortunately I have not found anything as whey to supplement with and assist in my goals as well as fueling my muscles.

I figured out the macro-nutrients and they are as follows (all values are approximate): (These were calculated using 2 cups of spinach)

Total calories: 325

Fat: 12.2g

Carbs: 37.9 g Fiber: 18.7g (almost a full days requirement that you can subtract from your carb intake!)

Protein: 26.7g

If you try this please let me know what you think!

Food is Fuel!

Cindy

 

 

8.10.14

 

 

Leave a Reply

